Representation of the Health and Social Services System

A chart showing the hierarchy of the various actors in the health system and social services.

*Nine of the 22 integrated centres can use the “integrated university health and social services centre” designation in their name.

**The following seven non-amalgamated institutions are attached to the Ministère and provide specialized and highly specialized services beyond their health region border: CHU de Québec - Université Laval; Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec - Université Laval; Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal; McGill University Health Centre; Centre hospitalier universitaire Sainte-Justine; Montreal Heart Institute; Institut Philippe-Pinel de Montréal.

In addition, five public institutions, not covered by the Act to Modify the Organization and Governance of the Health and Social Services Network, in Particular by Abolishing the Regional Agencies, offer services to a northern and aboriginal population. They are not shown in the above illustration.

Back to Governance and service organization.